Author Topic: Amiga WinUAE Setup WIP  (Read 928 times)

Offline Saturn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2546
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://jaysmith2000.ipbhost.com/index.php?s=c827a7b611daaaf555722b332b1b9a2c&act=idx
Amiga WinUAE Setup WIP
« on: September 14, 2015, 18:57:00 PM »
NOTE: I did this using Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit)

Download/install Winuae.

Copy ROMS & any other Kickstart roms you own or have Googled for, to the newly created WinUAE folder (C:UsersPublicDocumentsAmiga FilesWinUAE)

Opening the Desktop shortcut will show this error message:
One of the following system ROMs is required:
- KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k) [315093-02]
- KS ROM v1.3 (A3000)(SK) rev 34.5 (256k)
Check the System ROM path in the Paths panel and click Rescan ROMs.


Click OK to bring up the "WinUAE Properties" window and click Paths

Set the path to ROMs by clicking the button at the far right of its field and navigating to C:UsersPublicDocumentsAmiga FilesWinUAEROMS
Click Select Folder
WinUAE will automatically scan the roms. This will correct the opening error message.

Back in the WinUAE Properties window, click Game Ports
Port 1: Leave as Window mouse and set to Autofire (button underneath)
Port 2: Set to Keyboard Layout C (W=Up S=Down A=Left D=Right, Left ALT = Fire) and set to Autofire (button underneath)
Use Mouse left click, WASD, left Alt & left Shift

Back in the WinUAE Properties window, click Input
Select Standard PS/2 Keyboard from the drop window (make sure a greyed out check mark appears next to Device enabled)

Back in the WinUAE Properties window, click Quickstart
Click Select Image File and navigate to rom
Click Start

Tested on Abandoned Places - A Time for Heroes Press F12 to change disks. Left mouse once 'loaded'

[member=1]zapiy[/member]
Quote
:easiest way to start with winuae is using "Quickstart" option:choose computer type (A500) insert a game-disc and select "Game Ports" to configure joystick-option for port 2 ( works in most games this way).

key mapping
Using Quickstart in WinUAE
Keyboard cfg fix
Setting Up WinUAE (old version)

Offline Saturn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2546
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://jaysmith2000.ipbhost.com/index.php?s=c827a7b611daaaf555722b332b1b9a2c&act=idx
Re: WinUAE Setup WIP
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2015, 19:00:11 PM »
I got a few games to work using the above but definitely not all. Some wouldn't recognize the keyboard input on my laptop and others just failed to load, leaving a black screen.
I don't have a usb keyboard to test the input but the above is a start. If anyone has additional info on streamlining the process, I'll be happy to add it in. :)

Offline zapiy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11799
  • Karma: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Amiga WinUAE Setup WIP
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2015, 11:18:52 AM »
Great work chap. I will have a look through it later and see what I can add.
Own: Jaguar, Lynx, Dreamcast, Saturn, MegaDrive, MegaCD, 32X, GameGear, PS3, PS, PSP, Wii, GameCube, N64, DS, GBA, GBC, GBP, GB,  Xbox, 3DO, CDi,  WonderSwan, WonderSwan Colour NGPC

Offline Greyfox

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4555
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://www.atarigamer.co.uk
Re: Amiga WinUAE Setup WIP
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2015, 08:11:34 AM »
Some great information there Fella., but just to mention the kickstart rom you have linked in copyright protected and under licence of Clonto software, so I'll leave it up to you to sort, or point people in the direction of Google to locate the rom file.

As regards to Amiga Emulation which I'm very familiar, you will need a host of kickstart.roms ranging from 1.2 - 3.1 / CD32 etc to play the majority of software, the failure in loading certain games can be based down to inaccurate kickstart configurations, a bad dump of the game itself, the keyboard issue ? Not seen or heard of that before?.

This link : [spoiler]http://www.tweakguides.com/Amiga_3.html[/spoiler] gives a in depth explanation to the structures of the kickstart roms to help those understand the difference rom. Boots to use in order to run more or all games.

This link : [spoiler]http://www.pjhutchison.org/uae_config.html[/spoiler] gives the low on the co figs for WinUAE under different Amiga setups.

Hope this helps.

Offline Saturn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2546
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
    • http://jaysmith2000.ipbhost.com/index.php?s=c827a7b611daaaf555722b332b1b9a2c&act=idx
Re: Amiga WinUAE Setup WIP
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2015, 12:11:18 PM »
Thanks for the heads up Greyfox. Will be reading the info at those links 8)